top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKenneth Brown

Out for a Walk

Muffled heat wraps itself around me with aggressive legs.

Humidity, so eager, so ready, roughly sends its love down my throat.

Ultraviolet rays scatter down and scratch my flesh in a lover’s frenzy.

Sweltering temps continue to hold me down like eager, invisible, hands.

Breezeless air shackles around my limbs with a jailer’s determination.

Black top melt bare soles, embolden by the sun’s cruel vindication.

Sweat rains down reddened bodies, fearful of the oncoming drought.

Hair mats along desert-dry skulls, becoming carcasses in bleaching light.

Everything dies, withers, shrinks, in this blanket of heated, slowing, molasses.

Slowed, but undeterred, we keep moving, through the heat, past its pain.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Untitled Title

A Foolish endeavor To wake up so Ready And Able to Fail Over and over Then Dream Success Coming to save the Day

My 4th In July

When those pops go off, my cat rushes away Towards the only corner of safety, I think I know In that instant of explosion, of beer-fueled fun Factors comprised of festive jingoism and commercial Natio

Untitled Due to Poor Time Management

Instances so precious, fade into fluorescent lights never meant to be replaced. Seconds crumble through cracked, parking garage, granite, guaranteed for years by the lowest bidder. Minutes descend thr

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page